How To Recycle Logs Of SQL Server \ Agent \ Default Trace \ Full Text Search \ Full-Text Filter Daemon:

Recycling command closes the current error log file and cycles the error log extension numbers just like a server restart. The new error log contains version and copyright information and a line indicating that the new log has been created.

Recycle SQLFT.LOG : (Sql server full text search)

Naming convention for FT log is as  SQLFT.LOG[]
When an error occurs during a crawl, the Full-Text Search crawl logging facility creates and maintains a crawl log, which is a plain text file. Each crawl log corresponds to a particular full-text catalog
By default these are located in %ProgramFiles%\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\LOG folder
The 2 at the end of the file name indicates that there are two crawl log files for this database/catalog pair

Syntax: no syntax
Before SQL 2008 – restart the indexer
SQL 2008 onwards– we cant re-cycle to full text log without restarting SQL server

Recycle FDLAUNCHERRORLOG : (SQL Full-text Filter Daemon Service Error Log)

For those its new term ; FDLAUNCHERSyntax:RORLOG is a SQL Full-text Filter Daemon Service Error Log
The FDLAUNCHERRORLOG files are for errors that occur in the SQL Server Full Text Filter Daemon launcher service.
This is a separate service used to load filters for full text search
Log file (FDLAUNCHERRORLOG) will be available in same location as sql server errorlog

 Syntax: No Syntax
The only way available to recycle log is restart FDLauncher service

sp_configure ‘default trace’ : Recycle SQL Server Default trace

By default SQL Server keeps the last 5 trace files in the log directory
We can read these files by this way.
You can also get trace file details in reports in sql server

sp_configure 'show advanced options' , 1
EXEC sp_configure 'default trace', 0 RECONFIGURE
EXEC sp_configure 'default trace', 1 RECONFIGURE

sp_cycle_errorlog : Recycle SQL server errorlog

SQL Server can maintain from 6 - 99 Error Logs ; default is 6. The currently used SQL Server Error Log will be named errorlog.1
Every time SQL Server is started, the current error log is renamed to errorlog.1; errorlog.1 becomes errorlog.2, errorlog.2 becomes errorlog.3, and so on.
sp_cycle_errorlog enables you to cycle the error log files without stopping and starting the server.

Syntax : 
EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_cycle_errorlog

sp_cycle_agent_errorlog : Recycle SQL Agent Error log

SQL Server Agent can maintain up to nine SQL Server Agent Error Logs. The currently used SQL Server Agent Error Log will be named SQLAGENT.OUT
There is no way you can increase this number
By default, the SQL Server Agent Error log is located in "Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.n\MSSQL\LOG\SQLAGENT.OUT".

EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_cycle_agent_errorlog;

1 comment:
Write comments
  1. ha ha ha ha, did you check the comment above? lol.


Please do not enter spam links

Meet US


More Services